Skip to main content

With the publication of L.N. 255 of 2020, which came into effect on the 15th of July, 2020, the travel to and from Malta was permitted from the countries listed here. Additionally, Identity Malta has also re-opened its services and shall be accepting new Single Permit applications as of the 3rd of August, 2020.

However, although it is now permissible to travel to and from Malta, none of Malta’s Diplomatic missions or foreign representations are processing any visa applications.

Therefore for nationals of those countries considered ‘Safe-Zone’, which do not have a visa waiver agreement with the Schengen Area Members States, the reality remains that they will not be able to travel to Malta, unless they already have some other form of valid authorization to travel within the Schengen visa free zone.


This document does not purport to give legal, financial or tax advice. Should you require further information or legal assistance, please do not hesitate to contact Dr Julian Fenech Adami & Dr Christian Tonna